Pro-Life and Pro-Choice

I posted this in 2009, back when I still considered myself a Christian. My views on this subject are pretty much the same now.


“Before I formed you in the womb I knew you.” Jeremiah 1:5.

I am pro-life. Of course I am, everyone is pro-life. Who do you know who is pro-death? Specifically, I am pro-life because I do not know when human life begins. I know it does not begin at the moment of conception, because I believe in God. Why would God start all those lives at conception, then flush the majority of them? Most fertilized eggs do not implant in the uterus, pass on through and die. But it is also clear that life does not begin at birth, because babies who are born prematurely often thrive. So since it is a process that takes place over a period of time during pregnancy, we ought to err on the side of caution, and not abort late-term. What “late” means in this context is a matter for debate.

On the other hand, I do not think we should try to legislate abortions out of existence. Trying to deal with abortions by making them illegal has been tried, and it didn’t work. That’s why I don’t want Roe vs Wade to be overturned. I suppose that makes me pro-choice. So be it. I think the best way to deal with the problem is to provide support for pregnant girls and women and encourage things like easier adoptions. When pro-life people focus on providing such services, it can be very good. When they focus on trying to disrupt abortions, there are a lot of negative results.

The radicals in the pro-life movement don’t represent the majority of Americans, and neither do the radical pro-choice people. How about if we work together to prevent unwanted and untimely pregnancies, and provide the aforementioned support services? The only problem I see with that approach is that we would have less to argue about.
By the way, don’t even get me started on birth control. Birth control is a good thing, deal with it!

OK, if anyone wants me to, I will discuss the issue of birth control and the Catholic position on that at a later date.

Addendum:
I think conservative politicians use the pro-life issue to get votes and then don’t do anything about it. Since the law is unlikely to change, they know they can make a lot of noise about abortion without having to face any consequences.


Go to the Jackson Women’s Health Organization for information on the ongoing fight to keep their clinic open, the only one left in Mississippi.

pro-life pro-choice clinic

 

Title image credit: The Columbian.
4 thoughts on “Pro-Life and Pro-Choice

Add yours

  1. I guess concerning the question of abortion, I more or less agree with you – it’s something to be avoided if possible, but to be considered if necessary. As for the law, it should give people help to do the former, but give them the freedom to do the latter.

    What really bugs me is “I know it does not begin at the moment of conception, because I believe in God. Why would God start all those lives at conception, then flush the majority of them?”

    What?!

    Why would God create a universe so vast but only seed it with life so little a far apart that it’s next to impossible to meet any outside your own planet? Why would God send his son to deliver us from evil after half a million years of human existance without Jesus? Why would God create humans so flawed that so many turn out murderous, cheating, enslaving bastards, but with especially the innocent vulnerable to so many horrific diseases? Where has moral EVER followed from natural design?!

    Hey, God gave us vulnerable necks. Clearly he wants us to decapitate each other. I mean, that’s exactly the same logic.

    Nothing in God’s character, as it can be inferred from His designs, indicates that He wouldn’t endow humans with souls at inception and simply let the vast majority go straight to limbo, just as He did with all humans who lived and died before AD 30.

    1. Good questions, all. I don’t know what kind of god would do that. It tends to make me think there is no god. I’m not a Christian anymore, so I don’t have to concern myself with that one, thank the gods!

      Didn’t the Catholic Church cancel limbo?

      1. How does it follow from this that there is no God? There just doesn’t seem to be one that’s concerned with wastefulness or human suffering. Once you consider God simply might not mind people suffering, or might not prefer human life over any other process in the universe, from microbial life to the splendor of lifeless star systems or the beauty of the void between galaxies, well, such a God would fit quite well into the universe we find ourselves in, wouldn’t He?

  2. “How does it follow from this that there is no God?”
    It doesn’t follow. It does make me think that there is not the kind of god that the people I know imply when they use the term.

    I am agnostic as to your god, FreeFox. Your concept is more reasonable than the Catholic definition of the Godhead, but I can’t embrace it without some good indication that it is true, maybe some scientific finding that suggests the operation of a malevolent force.

    I am as certain as I am about anything that the traditional Christian God does not exist. I don’t think your god does, either. I would prefer that he did not, but preference has nothing to do with his existence. I’m sure you won’t let my skepticism discourage you. If your god concept makes life more bearable or more interesting, more power to you.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

